Advert Text

Many experts never look beyond landing pages when talking about conversion rates, but writing the correct advert text has a role as well.

Remember my example, earlier?

If you sell luxury leather furniture, and you bid on “leather sofas”, there will be some searchers who are looking for cheap, low quality leather furniture. Writing an advert to maximise the click through rate will attract many of the wrong people, and end up costing you money. On the other hand, you don’t want to put people off by implying that your sofas are expensive. So you need to write an advert that gets as many potential buyers through, but as few inappropriate visitors as possible.

In this case, you might use a title like “Top Quality Leather Sofas”.

The objective is here isn’t to get people to click on your advert - it’s to stop them from clicking on your advert.

Suppose that you sell armchairs, specifically aimed at the male market (maybe they’ve got a built-in beer fridge?).

Your advert reads:

Luxury leather Armchairs
5 Start Leather Quality
Free Delivery, Money Back Guarantee

Overall, your advert has had the following results:

Impressions: 		10,000
Clicks: 		500
Sales:			50
Cost Per Click: 	£2.00
Profit Per Sale:	£30.00
Total Cost 	= 500 * £2 	= £1000
Total Income 	= 50 * £30 	= £1500
Total Profit			= £500

So your campaign made a total profit of £500. Nice.

But this could be split up as follows:

Men

Impressions: 		5,000
Clicks: 		200
Sales:			40
Cost Per Click: 	£2.00
Profit Per Sale:	£30.00
Total Cost 	= 200 * £2 	= £400
Total Income 	= 40 * £30 	= £1200
Total Profit			= £800

Women

Impressions: 		5,000
Clicks: 		300
Sales:			10
Cost Per Click: 	£2.00
Profit Per Sale:	£30.00
Total Cost 	= 300 * £2 	= £600
Total Income 	= 10 * £30 	= £300
Total Profit			= -£300

Writing your advert more like this:

Leather Armchairs For Men
5 Star Leather Quality
Free Delivery, Money Back Guarantee

That may put off most of the unprofitable lady visitors, and make you more money.

In this case, you were trying to get rid of unprofitable clicks, in order to make more profit overall. Note that in the above example, your click through rate would drop from 5% to 4%, but the 60% increase in profit should outweigh any additional costs from increased bids (since click through rate is a factor in your Quality Score).

Page last updated by Steve Baker on May 11, 2008 at 7:08 pm.

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